stitching
Home FirmProfile PracticeAreas FAQs ContactUs
 
 
 
Treasure Coast DUI Lawyer
 
 
Treasure Coast DUI LawyerIf you have been arrested for a DUI offense on the Treasure Coast of Florida, you face serious consequences, including jail time, fines, and more. Two separate and distinct cases arise out of your DUI arrest. As a result of a DUI arrest you will face prosecution in the county court and an administrative hearing in the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV). You will need an experienced Treasure Coast attorney to handle both of your cases. With over ninety years of combined experience, the Florida DUI Team is here for you.

Ten Day Rule

In the state of Florida, individuals arrested for DUI have ten (10) days to request an administrative hearing with the DMV. This hearing is to decide the status of your driving privileges in the state of Florida, which is an entirely separate punishment from the criminal charges drivers arrested for DUI face as well. If you fail to schedule and attend this hearing, you will face at least a six (6) month suspension of your Florida driving privileges to a maximum of no more than eighteen (18) months.

Criminal Court Repercussions

At the court’s discretion, the sentence for first-time offenders may include fines of between $250 and $500, increasing to $500 to $1,000. According to Florida state DUI laws, individuals may face jail time of not more than 6 months for a first offense, or up to 9 months if a minor was present in the vehicle at the time of arrest. Additionally, you will have to perform 50 hours of community service. Your vehicle may also be impounded for 10 days. Of course, penalties increase with enhancements such as higher BAC or minors in the car, and with each subsequent conviction.

Felony DUI

If you are a convicted of a third DUI within 10 years or a fourth (or more), these are charges are prosecuted as felonies in the state of Florida. Additionally, if you have caused serious bodily injury to anyone as part of the incidents leading to your DUI arrest, you face third degree felony charges. Felony DUI carries penalties of not more than five (5) years imprisonment and up to $5,000 in fines.

DMV Repercussions

Your license will be revoked a minimum of 90 days and maximum of one year for your first DUI. Additional convictions, especially felony convictions, carry stricter penalties. First offenders may qualify for hardship reinstatement.
theFIRM
 
   Privacy Policy  |  All contents copyright © 2010, Ohle & Ohle All rights reserved